Contact: Regina L. Davis, 202-898-9382, rdavis@naruc.org



Kansas Commissioner Dwight D. Keen and Mississippi Chairman Chris Brown Appointed to NARUC Board of Directors

WASHINGTON (December 8, 2024) — National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Tricia Pridemore has appointed Commissioner Dwight D. Keen, of the Kansas Corporation Commission, and Chairman Chris Brown, of the Mississippi Public Service Commission, to the Association's Board of Directors.

Keen has served as a commissioner since 2018 and is a member of NARUC's Committee on Gas, Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety and the Subcommittee on Clean Coal and Carbon Management. He is also a member of the NARUC Gas-Electric Alignment for Reliability Working Group. His government experience includes serving for six years as a Kansas securities commissioner

Brown previously served in the Mississippi state legislature since 2012 and is the founder of several businesses.

"I am truly honored by the opportunity to serve on the NARUC Board of Directors and thereby participate in advancing the important public service missions of NARUC," said Keen.

"I am deeply honored and humbled to be appointed to the NARUC Board of Directors," said Brown. "This opportunity allows me to collaborate with fellow commissioners and work toward advancing policies that ensure viable, reliable and affordable utility services for all. I look forward to contributing my expertise and working alongside such dedicated professionals to address the critical challenges facing our nation's utility infrastructure."

"Commissioners Keen and Brown each bring a wealth of knowledge, experience and enthusiasm to work collaboratively to help the Board provide meaningful, effective leadership for the Association," said Pridemore. "NARUC is only able to achieve its purpose through the contributions and effort put forth by its members, which we greatly appreciate."

The Board consists of 20 members, plus the Association's president, the first and second vice presidents, and each past president who is still an active NARUC member. The chair of each standing committee is also a member of the Board. Members are appointed by the current NARUC president and serve four-year terms. As the supervisory body, the Board oversees the Association's general and financial functions and approves resolutions that serve as the Association's policy.

A complete list of the NARUC Board of Directors is available online at bit.ly/NARUCBoard.

NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of state public utility commissions before the three branches of the federal government.