

Coimisiún Thithe an Oireachtais Houses of the Oireachtas Commission

Minutes of Commission Meeting

Monday 6 November 2023

The eighth meeting of the Commission in 2023 took place at 12:00 pm via MS Teams.

1. MEMBERS PRESENT

Deputy Seán Ó Fearghaíl, Ceann Comhairle (Chairperson); Senator Jerry Buttimer, Cathaoirleach of the Seanad (Deputy Chairperson); Senator Paddy Burke; Deputy Francis Noel Duffy; Senator Rónán Mullen; Deputy Jennifer Murnane O'Connor; Senator Ned O'Sullivan; Deputy Michael Ring; Deputy Louise O'Reilly; Deputy Jennifer Whitmore; and Mr Peter Finnegan, Clerk of the Dáil and Secretary General.

2. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Minutes of the meeting of 2 October 2023 were agreed by the Commission.

3. UPDATE FROM THE STEERING GROUP ON THE PROGRAMME OF WORK FOR LEINSTER HOUSE

The Commission received an update from the Chair of the Steering Group on the programme of work for Leinster House.

4. UPDATE ON SECURITY MATTERS

The Commission was briefed on security matters relating to the parliamentary precinct.

5. DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION PROGRAMME

ICT Projects Status and Expenditure Report

The Commission noted the ICT Projects Status and Expenditure Report for the period to end October 2023.

6. SCHEME FOR SECRETARIAL ASSISTANCE FOR MEMBERS

The Commission noted the responses received from parties and groups to its request for information on how the additional staff allocated at the beginning of the 33rd Dáil are organised to support members in their parliamentary committee work.

In view of its responsibility to ensure accountability for the use of public resources, the Commission requested further information for its next meeting regarding the utilisation of these staff resources by parties and groups.

The Commission agreed that the most efficient means to engage additional resources with the required expertise to support the Joint Committee on Environment and Climate Action was through the use of the committee consultancy budget. It agreed to recommend this course to the Joint Committee.

7. OIREACHTAS TV

Proposal for the Development of a European Parliament TV Channel

The Commission considered a proposal for the development of a European Parliament TV channel on Oireachtas TV for broadcasting the live proceedings of the European Parliament. It also considered an outline briefing note on the proposal, include estimated costings.

The Commission requested the Service to examine the matter further.

8. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

(i) AV Room Leinster House

The Commission requested the Superintendent to present options to the next meeting to make details of events taking place in the AV Room available to members and staff. It also noted that the Protocol governing the use of the AV Room, adopted by the *Committee on Procedure and Privileges* in 2004, needs updating to reflect the evolving use of the room.

(ii) Nomination to the Print Users' Council

The Commission appointed Mr Stephen Fitzpatrick BL to serve as a member of the Print Users' Council in place of Mr David O'Neill BL.

(iii) *Correspondence*

The Commission noted correspondence from MEPs Clare Daly and Mick Wallace.

9. NEXT MEETING: Monday 4 December 2023.

Seán Ó Fearghaíl T.D. Ceann Comhairle and Chairperson of the Commission 6 November 2023